Book Review

Jodi Picoult – Keeping Faith

Description: When Mariah White catches her husband with another woman, her life starts to fall apart. And when her daughter, Faith, begins to confide in an imaginary friends, Mariah’s own brush with insanity starts to take on a darker meaning.
Then Faith appears to start performing miracles, and all at once the situation is spiralling beyond Mariah’s control. Is Faith truly seeing God? Or is she just a troubled young girl seeking refuge from her parent’s divorce? When it comes to matters of faith, it’s hard to know who to believe…

 

keeping-faith
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

I adored this book whilst I was reading it. I think it took me about 4 days to get through, all of which I was working so I read this every available second that I had. Food in the microwave? Read the book. Boyfriend coming down the stairs to let me in? Got the book out. I really struggled to put it down. Faith is a 7 year old girl who starts ‘seeing God’ after her parents divorce, even though they aren’t a religious family. Her father brings another woman home, and Mariah and Faith walk in on them. Mariah’s mother Millie is present a lot giving us two mother-daughter generations to compare. As always in Picoult books, there’s a court scene (this time over custody) and a legal battle. In her books I feel she uses the witness box well as a chance to ask us as the reader direct questions, and give us the opportunity to ‘pick our side’ if we can.

I won’t go into the story too much as I don’t want to give anything away, but what I love about Jodi Picoult books is that you have to work out your own opinion. At no point is she saying that this child is or isn’t seeing God, we are just presented with what happens and left to decide.
I’m quite an open minded person and I’m fascinated with ghosts and previous lives. I think there are too many stories that can’t be explained to just rule it all out. I wonder how someone’s perception of the book would be different if they were deeply religious, or perhaps needed proof of something before they could believe it was true? I love the other questions that this brings up – How do we define a good mother? A Good father? What causes us to change opinion of someone?

I would definitely recommend this and would love to hear your thoughts on it if you do.

One thought on “Jodi Picoult – Keeping Faith

Leave a Reply

