Uncategorized

Pancake Day – 28th February!

Another post from me today, this one slightly different 🙂 Not every post from me will be book related – I love way too many other things as well! As it’s coming up to pancake day (I know – I can’t wait either!!) here’s a collection of different recipes which you might want to try this year. Not that we need an excuse for pancakes any other day of the year either…

nutella-pancakes

I’m going to say that as there’s fruit these are healthy right?? They look incredible – a mix of fruit and chocolate always works so well. The recipe can be found over at Supergoldenbakes with easy to read instructions.

strawberry-pancakes

I love strawberries – although I have an annoying allergy to certain fresh fruits so I have to be pretty careful what I eat. However as soon as it’s cooked they’re no problem, so I could easily get away with these! These pancakes have strawberries actually in them, rather than just on top – yum! The recipe can be found on Rachel Ray and although it’s American, google easily converts things from cups to grams. I just ended up buying some cup measuring things which are so easy to use!

banana-pancakes

So these ones are kind of different in that they’re made with banana’s as a healthy alternative. I love trying out healthy recipes, and eating ‘wholefood’ meals when possible so these really appeal. The sweetness comes from the banana, so it’s all natural. It also means that the riper the banana’s, the sweeter they’ll be! Hop over to Laura Caris Cooks for the recipe.

sweet-potato-pancakes

Sweet potato pancakes – I know right away that these will not be for everyone! It took me forever to come round to the idea of vegetables as sweet things too. So if your first thought was ‘eww’ move on now! 🙂 These are another healthy alternative (until you cover it in maple syrup that is!). Made with just a few ingredients, the recipe can be found on Wholeheartedly Healthy.

garlic-mushroom-pancakes

Savoury pancakes are far too often left out of this glorious day. These garlic, mushroom and brie pancakes sound yummy and could be a great alternative if you’re not too into the sweet things. I found this on eggrecipes – you need a few ingredients but personally I’d just leave out the salad 😉

asparagus-and-ham

Excuse me whilst I mop up the pile of drool that has appeared by my feet. Asparagus and ham pancakes, mmm they look so good! This recipe is from delicious magazine and the pancakes are topped with a bechamel sauce. I think I might have just picked out my dinner!

If none of these take your fancy I’ve found a load more great ideas over at BBC Good Food – whatever you end up having, I hope you enjoy it! My favourites are simple lemon and sugar or cherry pie filling (when I can find it – it’s often tricky to locate! *sad face*). This year I might have to spread it over a few weeks just to try some new ones though!

9 thoughts on “Pancake Day – 28th February!

  1. Great recipes! Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    I am very intrigued by the savory pancakes with mushrooms and garlic. I honestly had never considered savory pancakes before but this could be game changing! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

