Book Review

Katie Fforde – A Secret Garden

What I want to know’, said Lorna, ‘is what lies behind those ash trees at the back of the garden?

Lorna is a talented gardener and Philly is a plantswoman. Together they work in the grounds of a beautiful manor house in the Cotswolds

They enjoy their jobs and are surrounded by family and friends.

But for them both the door to true love remains resolutely closed.

So when Lorna is introduced to Jack at a dinner party and Lucien catches Philly’s eye at the local farmers market, it seems that dreams really can come true and happy endings lie just around the corner.

But do they?

Troublesome parents, the unexpected arrival of someone from Lorna’s past, and the discovery of an old and secret garden mean their lives are about to become a lot more complicated…

a-secret-garden
3 out of 5 stars

This is a difficult review to write – How do you write about a book that you didn’t particularly like? I do love Katie Fforde. I’ve read quite a few of her books and found them to be easy to read; enjoyable but not too taxing, so I was looking forward to reading this one also.

Things I liked

  • The descriptions of the stately house and gardens were lovely. It was easy to imagine strolling through them, maybe sitting on the grass and reading a book.
  • I like a happy ending so I put the book down confident all was well in the (literary) world.
  • There were a few things that I thought would happen for sure but didn’t. I liked that it wasn’t all predictable.

Things I didn’t like

  • The characters bar about two of them. I just didn’t connect with them at all and I couldn’t imagine them as ‘real people’. They said things that didn’t make sense to me.
  • It took me until I was 51% of the way through to actually show any interest. The beginning was slow, and a little dull.
  • I didn’t believe the romances and because I hadn’t connected with the characters everything just sounded cheesy. I cringed a little reading some of it.

I really wish that I loved this book as I had expected to. There are however a lot of 4* and 5* reviews on goodreads and other readers have really enjoyed it so if you get the chance to read it, please do give it a go! I’d really like to hear what others thought about it.

Thank you to Netgalley and Century for the chance to read this book in exchange for an honest review. This was released on the 23rd February and you can get a copy here

Roxy xx

Leave a Reply

