Book Review

Karen Clarke – The Beachside Sweet Shop

Chocolate fudge, butterscotch and raspberry bonbons… treat yourself to some sugary treats, a big slice of friendship and a sprinkling of romance at The Beachside Sweet Shop.

When Marnie Appleton inherited a sweet shop from her grandfather she was determined to do his legacy proud. The shop has been a much-loved feature of the little seaside town of Shipley for years, but now Marnie needs to bring it up to date, and she’s recruited gorgeous new assistant Josh to help.

Marnie gets busy redecorating the shop and choosing delicious new sweets to stock, but things are never that simple: new neighbour Isobel, a fame-hungry blogger, is on a crusade against sugar, and she’ll go to any lengths to secure bad publicity for Marnie’s shop.

Marnie fights back with homemade sugar-free treats, but with her best friend Beth heavily pregnant, her grandmother Celia recovering from an operation, and her very recently ex-boyfriend Alex returning to Shipley with a new love, Marnie has a lot on her plate.

And then there’s Josh, with whom Marnie is struggling to keep her relationship strictly professional…Will both the sweet shop and love flourish?

beachside-sweetshop
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I knew from the cover that this was one I wanted to read! One of my favourite books is ‘Welcome To Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dreams’ by Jenny Colgan so I hoped this would be similar. This story is told from Marnie’s point of view and focuses on her attempting to run the family business – her Grandfather’s sweet shop.

This was such an easy to read book which is exactly what I needed this week. It was funny, it was light-hearted and I was involved with the storyline (to the point where I tried talking to the book but I forget that the characters never reply). I loved the description of the shop and all the sweets that they sold – luckily I’m more of a chocolate fan so it didn’t make me too hungry, but I did have the occasional longing for a pear drop. I loved the idea of the homemade sweets in the book too – I spent an afternoon browsing pinterest afterwards to see what I could make (future blog post soon?!). Although I did attempt making caramel once and the saucepan was never quite the same.

There were a few things that I didn’t love as much – the main character was very indecisive the whole way through. Whilst most of the time this made sense, we all have times when we can’t decide what to do with our life right? Occasionally it got a little bit too much. Just make up your mind already!! There was one other character that seemed to go from hero to zero in a matter of paragraphs, but as I don’t want to give anything away I’ll leave it there (I just wanted to grumble a little!).

Other than that this book was funny and enjoyable to read – I would definitely recommend this, perhaps as a holiday beach pick as we’re heading quickly to Summer?! It’s released on the 2nd March and you can get a copy here.

2 thoughts on “Karen Clarke – The Beachside Sweet Shop

Leave a Reply

