new releases

New Releases: 20th – 26th March 2017

I’ve managed to read 3 books this week and they were all different genres which was great – reviews up soon. Here are the books being released next week that are going straight on my TBR list!

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane – Lisa See

Teagirl of hummingbird lane

A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple.

Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea. There is ritual and routine, and it has been ever thus for generations. Then one day a jeep appears at the village gate—the first automobile any of them have seen—and a stranger arrives.

In this remote Yunnan village, the stranger finds the rare tea he has been seeking and a reticent Akha people. In her biggest seller, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, See introduced the Yao people to her readers. Here she shares the customs of another Chinese ethnic minority, the Akha, whose world will soon change. Li-yan, one of the few educated girls on her mountain, translates for the stranger and is among the first to reject the rules that have shaped her existence. When she has a baby outside of wedlock, rather than stand by tradition, she wraps her daughter in a blanket, with a tea cake hidden in her swaddling, and abandons her in the nearest city.

After mother and daughter have gone their separate ways, Li-yan slowly emerges from the security and insularity of her village to encounter modern life while Haley grows up a privileged and well-loved California girl. Despite Haley’s happy home life, she wonders about her origins; and Li-yan longs for her lost daughter. They both search for and find answers in the tea that has shaped their family’s destiny for generations.

A powerful story about a family, separated by circumstances, culture, and distance, Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane paints an unforgettable portrait of a little known region and its people and celebrates the bond that connects mothers and daughters.

Release Date: 21st March 2017
Publisher: Scribner
Length: 384 pages (kindle edition)
Get a copy here

The idea of you

The Idea of You – Amanda Prowse

With her fortieth birthday approaching, Lucy Carpenter dares to hope that she finally has it all: a wonderful new husband, Jonah, a successful career and the chance of a precious baby of her own. Life couldn’t be more perfect.

But the reality of becoming parents proves much harder than Lucy and Jonah imagined. Jonah’s love and support is unquestioning, but as Lucy struggles with work and her own failing dreams, the strain on their marriage increases. Suddenly it feels like Lucy is close to losing everything…

Heart-wrenching and poignant, this latest work by bestselling author Amanda Prowse asks the question: what does it mean to be a mother in today’s hectic world? And what if it’s asking too much to want it all?

Release Date: 21st March 2017
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Length: 332 pages (kindle edition)
Get a copy here

The Stranger – Saskia Sarginson

We all have our secrets. Eleanor Rathmall has kept one her whole life. But when her husband dies and a stranger arrives at her door, her safe life in the idyllic English village she’s chosen as her home begins to topple.

The Stranger

Everyone is suspicious of this stranger, except for Eleanor. But her trust in him will put her life in danger, because nothing is as it seems; not her dead husband, the man who claims to love her, or the inscrutable outsider to whom she’s opened her home and her heart.

In a devastating love story full of intrigue and dark secrets we find that it is those who are closest to us that can sometimes pose the biggest threat of all.

Release Date: 23rd March 2017
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group UK
Length: 384 pages (paperback)
Get a copy here

Miss Mary’s Book of Dreams – Sophie Nicholls

Miss Marys book of dreams

In historic York, Ella seems to have the perfect life. She’s a published author, her bookshop is thriving, she’s married to the man of her dreams and they’ve started a family of their own.

But Ella is struggling. Motherhood isn’t quite everything she imagined it to be, and she’s worried that there may be cracks in her marriage.

On the other side of the Atlantic, despite endless blue skies and a stream of eager customers in her vintage dress shop, Ella’s mother Fabia finds that life in San Diego is not enough for her. She misses York, and can sense that Ella needs her, so she flies home.

And this is when they meet Bryony. With a complicated life and secrets of her own, Bryony may have some of the answers they’re looking for.

Can Ella and Fabia help her find her way, whilst also working out how to find their own happily ever after?

Release Date: March 23rd 2017
Publisher: Zaffre
Length: 320 pages (kindle edition)
Get a copy here

The Little Clock House on the Green – Eve Devon

Welcome to Whispers Wood, a cosy little village in the heart of the English countryside, where everybody knows everybody and rumours are spread thicker than jam on a scone…

The little clock house on the green

When a rival village is awarded Best in Bloom, the residents of Whispers Wood are determined to regain their former glory – and with Old Man Isaac finally selling the clock house on the village green, with two potential buyers, operation ‘Summer Fete’ is on!

For Kate Somersby, the very bricks that make up the clock house hold precious memories of her childhood. Now she’s finally returned home after years of running away, she’s here to make Isaac an offer and ensure her and her beloved sister’s dreams come true. Only entrepreneur Daniel Westlake is standing in her way.

To prove they have the village’s interests at heart and in turn become the proud new owner of the clock house, Kate and Daniel must compete to raise funds for the Whispers Wood Summer Fete.

Over one glorious English summer, friendships are forged, secrets are revealed and romance delightfully bursts into bloom.

Release Date: 23rd March 2017
Publisher: HarperImpulse
Length: 272 pages (kindle edition)
Get a copy here

Tattletale – Sarah J Naughton

Tattletale

For fans of Disclaimer and I Let You Go, Tattletale is the debut psychological thriller you can’t miss.

Once upon a time, there was a little girl who believed in fairytales. Now she is out to get your happy ending.

One day changes Jody’s life forever.
She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.

One day changes Mags’ life forever.
After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiance Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind.

But the pieces don’t quite seem to fit…

Release Date: 23rd March 2017
Publisher: Trapeze
Length: 336 pages (paperback)
Get a copy here

Edith & Oliver – Michéle Forbes

From the author of Ghost Moth, one of the most acclaimed debuts of 2014, a stunning second novel which will put Michèle Forbes in the league of Colm Toíbín, Anne Enright and Sebastian Barry.
edith and oliver

Edith was born into a different world. But her rebellious nature brought her to the seedy glamour of the music hall, where she plays the piano by night.

Oliver is an illusionist of moderate repute. But he is a man of ambition. He wants to tour the world, to pioneer ground-breaking illusions.

History and fate have other ideas.

When Edith and Oliver meet they fall headlong in love. But their children arrive as the world begins to change, as cinemas crowd the high street and the draw of the music hall wanes. What follows is a struggle: against the entropy of marriage, against the march of time, and against Oliver’s flaws-flaws that may cost them everything.

Release Date: 23rd March 2017
Publisher: W&N
Length: 400 pages (hardback)
Get a copy here

Have a great week!

Roxy xx

Save

Advertisements

One thought on “New Releases: 20th – 26th March 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s