Lifestyle

A Little Bit of Light

On Tuesday I got my hair done at the salon. I couldn’t really afford it anyway but I’ve got a big family party this weekend and I wasn’t confident dying it myself so I thought I’d go get it done! Also the last week or two have been busy, stressful and quite rubbish (hence the lack of posts) so I hoped this would cheer me up!

Before it was a kind of ombré, brown at the top going in to blonde – not exactly what I’d asked for and it had been fine, but I wanted my blonde back! I went in and asked for it all blond again, but not too blonde, not bleach blonde but blonde enough to match the current lower hair. Anyway to cut long story shot, I now have quite severe chemical burn.


I went to another salon to get their opinion and apparently a too-strong bleach was used, so a little warning to anyone wanting to go lighter – foils might be better!! It’s spread to the front of my neck and there’s a rash on my hands, arms and it’s playing havoc with my face too – all in time for the party! The worst part is my actual hair looks rubbish too – the parting is Elsa-from-Frozen kind of white, it then goes a horrible yellow colour and then back in to a blonde that I can actually handle! Gahhh.

Anyway the main point of this post is to tell you what happened Thursday morning. I went to the supermarket before work to buy some grapes (ah man, I love grapes!) and a woman starting talking to me randomly at the checkout. Anyone from the South of England may know this doesn’t happen often – not sure what it is but strangers don’t talk to each other as often as I’d like. But this woman says hello and then she said ‘I like your hair‘!!

I was feeling so crappy about it that I just wanted to cry, someone liked it! Then I realised that actually, a little thing like my hair doesn’t really matter all that much. I’ve been told I should ring the salon and demand a refund, someone even said to sue them but you know what? I’ve got no permanent damage, my hair isn’t really too important in the grand scheme of things and I’m a lot happier just thinking ‘it doesn’t matter’. Sure, I should probably get my money back but I’m not going to stress about it when there’s a lot more to focus on.

Have a lovely Saturday everyone! I’m off to celebrate my Grandad’s 70th Birthday and I’ll be damned if I let a little bit of yellow hair stop me from enjoying a party!!

Roxy xx

4 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Light

Leave a Reply

