Book Review

Lily Graham – The Cornish Escape

Get swept away along the beautiful Cornish coast with two love stories, centuries apart in time but entwined at their hearts.

Victoria Langley’s world crumbles when her husband leaves, but she knows exactly where to go to mend her broken heart. The rugged shores of Cornwall will be her perfect sanctuary.

In the quaint, little village of Tregollan, nestled in the sea cliffs, Victoria is drawn to Seafall Cottage, covered in vines and gracefully falling apart. Inside she finds a diary full of secrets, from 1905.

Victoria is determined to unravel the diary’s mystery, but the residents of Tregollan are tight-lipped about Tilly Asprey, the cottage’s last owner. Just as she reaches a dead end, Victoria meets Adam Waters, the lawyer handling the cottage’s sale. He’s handsome, charming, and has a missing piece of the puzzle.

Tilly’s diary tells a devastating love story that mirrors Victoria’s own. Can Victoria learn from Tilly’s mistakes, and give herself a second chance at love? Or is history doomed to repeat itself?

the cornish escape
Rating: 4 out of 5

When I picked up this story I was expected a seaside romance story which I’ve read quite a few of lately, but it turned out to be much more than that. We actually have two stories running side by side, one in the present day and one at the beginning of the 20th century.

Victoria has been betrayed by her husband after he cheats on her with a younger woman so she escapes to Cornwall for some much needed breathing space. Whilst out walking she comes across a run down old house and instantly feels drawn to it – so she buys it! (I know, I’d love to be able to just buy a house like that too!). It’s in the house that she discovers some old letters – and that’s where the mystery begins.

I’m not ashamed to say that I blubbed several times in this book. True, I am crying at books far more often recently – I’ll put that as a side effect of my job! But this crying was well deserved. I did not want this story to end at all – I was absolutely captivated by the story of Tilly and Fen that we hear through the old letters. It was romantic but gave a very haunted feel too which I loved. ‘A beautiful summer romance to warm your heart’ absolutely does not do this book justice – how about a timeless romance to warm your soul?! I can’t remember the last time I was so sad to reach the end of a book and I’ll definitely be reading this one again.

Many thanks to Netgalley, Bookouture and obviously Lily Graham for letting me read and review this – you can (and should!) get a copy here

Roxy xx

Leave a Reply

