Lifestyle

Wedding Season #1 | Bridal Shower Gift Ideas

Some of you may know that I’m currently studying with the UK Wedding Planning Academy – my course covers pretty much everything from planning an event to the styling and design. I’m absolutely loving it so far and I can’t wait to get started in that industry. There’s actually a competition at the moment to interpret and design a mood board based on the Pantone Fall 2017 colours – to see my entries so far check out my instagram .

I was contacted the other day by Adore Me, an American lingerie and swimwear company, who wondered if I’d be interested in blogging about Bridal Showers for a feature they’re doing.  With the wedding season about to begin they know how difficult it can be to find the perfect present to take along.

So what is a Bridal Shower?

A Bridal Shower is almost like an engagement party except it’s just for the girls. The bride is ‘showered’ with gifts, encouraging words, love and support ready for the big day. A Bachelorette party on the other hand is more often a night to let your hair down, have a few drinks and enjoy the Bride’s ‘last night of freedom’.
Bridal Showers haven’t really caught on in England yet – we have stag and hen parties instead. However with baby showers and gender reveal parties on the rise, it won’t be long before Bridal Shower invites start pouring in. With this in mind check out my list of gifts that I think would be great for a shower.

Adore Me set 1
Photo taken from the Adore Me website

Lingerie – A fairly obvious choice but who doesn’t love pretty underwear right? If I knew the bride well enough I’d pick the set – if not I might give a gift voucher towards a store so she could pick it herself.

Some of my favourite sites to shop for underwear and recommended sites for gifts or to treat yourself are

Adore Me
Ann Summers
Victoria’s Secret
ASOS
Boux Avenue

Perfume – I find that perfume is usually a fairly safe choice but still a great gift. TPerfumehere are so many gorgeous scents and bottles these days that it won’t be too difficult to find the perfect one. If you don’t fancy risking it, only for the perfume to sit in the back of a cupboard unused, why don’t you ask the Maid of Honour? I’m sure she can let you know the Bride’s favourite.

Still not sure? Why don’t you get a gift voucher for a perfume making experience. This gives the Bride a chance to go along and create her very own signature scent that she can use for years to come.

Kitchenware – I get so excited in any store that sells things for the kitchen. I’d happily spend a lot of time mixing, stirring, boiling and whatever else I need to do whilst creating wonderful food. If your Bride loves to cook too this could be a great gift idea. Kitchen Pot
– Saucepans
– New set of knives
– Mixing Bowls
– Spice jars
– Casserole pots

What if your bride doesn’t like cooking? I’d be tempted to buy something that makes cooking a lot quicker and easier such as a slow cooker, thermomix or stand mixer.

Subscription Boxes – One of my favourite gift ideas as they will keep arriving for months after the shower. There are so many to choose from too! You can get boxes of the latest beauty products, candles, coffee, spirits or wine. There’s a box that sends a different book each month depending on what the Bride likes to read. You can even buy craft boxes or baking boxes so there really is something for everyone. For UK boxes check out All Subscription Boxes which should give some inspiration.

Gift Baskets – The thing that I love about gift baskets is that they are so easy to put together yourself if you’re on a budget. You can personalise them for the bride from what’s in the basket to the colours you use. Stuck for ideas of what to include? Search Bridal Shower gift basket in Pinterest and there are a ton of brilliant ideas you can recreate at home. They can even be themed according to the shower or wedding theme if there is one. Alternatively there are some great websites and stores you can buy ready made gift baskets if that works better for you.

Sleepwear

Adore me sleepwear
Photo taken from the Adore Me website

Everyone needs pyjama’s – unless you sleep naked. In which case I would always keep pyjamas by the bed just in case there was an intruder. If you need to run downstairs with a baseball bat, better do it with some super cute sleepwear on! Again I would recommend many of the websites listed under lingerie as they also do sleepwear.

These are just a few idea’s that I’ve thought of but there are so many other amazing gifts you could take along. Personally I think that the Bride will be happy you’ve made the effort to be there no matter what you bring – the perfect present is just an added bonus.
Have you guys got any Bridal showers planned this Summer or have you been to any memorable ones in the past? What gifts did you take? I’d love to hear from you!
Love Roxy xx

img_0253

*Disclaimer!* I cannot be held responsible for any items that are damaged or stolen by an intruder whilst you put your super cute sleepwear on. Run downstairs naked if you have to!! 😉 xx

2 thoughts on “Wedding Season #1 | Bridal Shower Gift Ideas

Leave a Reply

