Blog Challenge

Blog Challenge Day 8 | What I Ate Today

Happy Thursday everyone! We are nearly at the weekend and I’m so excited already! I’m away for two nights to Torquay with the boyfriend to explore some beaches and National Trust properties (if I can find my card!).

So this blog challenge is one that should probably go up a little later, but I know exactly what I’m eating today already and it’s unlikely to change so you can have it now!

Breakfast

I’m on steroids this week which I have to take first thing in the morning with or straight after food. They taste absolutely disgusting and give nasty side effects like problems sleeping, tingly arms and an upset stomach. Luckily I’m only on them for a week, and I’ve had a little sleep trouble but that’s about all so far. I’ve actually used them as an excuse to eat a Belgium bun for breakfast! I know, that’s so unhealthy right? The buns are big and stodgy enough that I can take the steroids with them, and they take away the icky pill taste – I’ll go back to my normal eggs next week!

 

Belgium Bun
Image from Morrisons.co.uk

 

Lunch

Normally for lunch I’ll bring in leftover dinner from the night before. Last night I fully intended to do that but I didn’t really like the dinner I madeย ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ It was a sausage/chilli sloppy joe type recipe and it was fine, but I didn’t really want it again today. I left it with my boyfriend so he can have it for dinner tonight. Insteadย I picked up a ham sandwich from the shop on my way in to work. I’ll eat it with some sweet chilli crisps and some mango & pineapple pieces. So exciting right?

Dinner

Tonight I’m making a pancetta and mushroom risottoย ๐Ÿ˜ I’ve made it before and adored it so I’ll have that with some vegetables for dinner this evening, and I can bring the leftovers in for lunch at work tomorrow. Mmmmmm!!

Risotto

So that’s my exciting food day! On Sunday I’m going for afternoon tea, and we’ve also got a Groupon voucher for a beach cafรฉ near our hotel which we’ll go to Monday evening. That’s all I’ve got planned though, so I’ll need to start planning dinners for the rest of the days.

Do you guys have anything nice planned to eat this week?

Love Roxy xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Blog Challenge Day 8 | What I Ate Today

    1. They are really good, just really sweet! They’re kind of similar to a cinnamon bun I guess in the shape/icing on top, just with sultana’s and a cherry instead ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m from the UK so all the bakeries have them over here! You’re based in the States right? I’ve never seen them there sadly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That looks yummy!!! I have never tried a belgium bun! What would you compare it to? And as of late I’ve been craving a lot of pasta so I have mac n cheese, spaghetti, and tortellini in the cupboard! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if you’ve ever had a raisin Danish? It’s similar to that, just with a softer texture ๐Ÿ™‚ Ooh I love mac n cheese! I make one sometimes which has hot dog pieces in mmm. Pasta is the ultimate comfort food! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not tried a Belgium bun yet. Have I missed out? The risotto looks delicious! It is okay to eat things which the heart wants ๐Ÿ™‚ I have bought myself a sinful breakfast of peanut butter swirl brownies and chocolate chip muffins from a farmer’s market for tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It turns out that the farmer’s markets here are heart-achingly expensive. I paid $13 for 5 pieces of Porcini mushrooms. My senses are still recovering from the assault. My mind is in comparison mode – with the fresh markets in Northampton and even London! So yes, I will take that cup of tea and Belgium bun.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. $13?! Wow, that’s crazy! We have some lovely markets here in Plymouth too and things are way cheaper! I hope those Porcini mushrooms were the best tasting ones ever! Haha x

        Liked by 1 person

      3. In fact no. I had to throw away some. While cooking they turned a strange green and went mushy. It made my stomach turn to just look at them. But here’s the thing. I know now what not to buy ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

