Lifestyle

A Weekend Away in Exeter

Happy Wednesday! It’s the middle of the work week but so far I’ve only worked for half a day. My boyfriend and I went away Sunday & Monday night and I came back to work half way through Tuesday. For some reason I thought we were going to Torquay – turns out that we were going to Exeter! Haha. I only realised on the way to the hotel but they’re so close to each other it wasn’t a problem. We stayed at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel which was so cute – it looked like a country house! Far enough out of the centre of Exeter to avoid the traffic, but it meant we could walk if we wanted to.

img_0408

We started off with Afternoon Tea at a Wyevale Garden Centre on the way to our hotel. It was actually a Groupon that I’d found a few weeks before that happened to work perfectly with our trip.

We got to the hotel (I forgot to take photo’s of the hotel room!) and chilled for a little while first. I had some time to read my book which is always appreciated! For dinner we walked over to Frankie and Benny’s which took about half an hour. On the way back we found a path that went right by the river so took a little longer to explore.

img_0411
BBQ Ribs, Garlic Bread, Chicken Bites and Loaded Potatoes!
img_0412
Lasagne and Mac n Cheese
img_0410
Love seeing old buildings!
img_0420
Walking by the River
img_0419
Such a lovely walk!
img_0414
We just had to walk down this road, it looked too cool not to!
img_0416
Lit up with street lights

The next day we debated what to do as our original plans were closer to Torquay. We decided to go to Powderham Castle which was close by, and we got 50% off entry due to being National Trust members. Plus it had a petting zoo which always keeps me happy haha! Some of this castle dates back to the 14th Century, but mostly it was expanded in the 18th and 19th Century. You can get married here, and they also do a Candlelight Yoga class which I’m thinking about doing! (The yoga, not the marriage)

img_0422
Sheep cuddles!
img_0431
Feeding a tortoise cucumber!
img_0432
Entrance to the Castle
img_0439
Getting used to the Princess lifestyle
img_0438
Entrance to the Castle
img_0446
Castle grounds
img_0444
Lunch at the cafe
img_0458
The only thing missing is custard to go with the chocolate cake!

We were given a tour of the Castle which lasted about an hour and was so interesting! At one point I was told that I was stood under an original Turkish Fertility Light – I’ve never moved out of the way so fast haha. Apparently Mary Berry has recently filmed part of a TV series in the kitchens which will be shown in Autumn sometime. The show is calledΒ Mary Berry’s Secret’s From Britain’s Great Houses so I’ll be watching that when it airs!

After the Castle we went to a working flour mill (I didn’t manage to get any pictures there I’m afraid) and then to Exmouth for dinner. We parked by the sea front and ate at a restaurant called ‘The Beach’ – perfect name for it right? The food was delicious and I just had to have a glass of white wine to go with it… πŸ˜‰

img_0452img_0453

I had such a great time away that it made it even harder than normal to come in to work. We’re trying to book our first holiday abroad at the moment – hopefully we’ll get something booked soon! Sun, sea and cocktails pretty please 😍

What did you guys get up to at the weekend?

Love Roxy xx

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Weekend Away in Exeter

    1. Eating the cookies sounds like a good idea! I think I’d make an ice cream sandwich out of cookies if I had any… now I’m getting hungry! πŸ™‚ I didn’t know that either, but he seemed to enjoy munching it! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The things we learn πŸ˜‰ The cookies are some of the best things I have had since my arrival. Filled with macadamia & white chocolate, peanut butter, and then sea-salt & chocolate. How food can make all the difference! πŸ˜€ xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

