Blog Tour | Kisses From Nimbus – P.J. ‘Red’ Riley

KissesFromNimbus_Banner

Shot at, bombed, imprisoned and arrested for murder. His is the story the establishment doesn’t want you to read.

Captain P. J. “Red” Riley is an ex-SAS soldier who served for eighteen years as an MI6 agent.

Riley escaped internment in Chile during the Falklands war during an audacious top-secret attempt to attack the Argentinian mainland.

He was imprisoned in the darkness of the Sierra Leonean jungle, and withstood heavy fire in war-torn Beirut and Syria.

In 2015, he was arrested for murder but all charges were later dropped.

In this searing memoir, Riley reveals the brutal realities of his service, and the truth behind the newspaper headlines featuring some of the most significant events in recent British history. His account provides startling new evidence on the Iraq war, what Tony Blair really knew about Saddam Hussain’s weapons of mass destruction before the allied invasion, and questions the British government’s alleged involvement in the death of Princess Diana.

Chaotic, darkly humorous and at times heart-wrenchingly sad, Kisses From Nimbus charts the harrowing real-life experiences of a soldier and spy in the name of Queen and country.

Kisses From Nimbus

Happy Wednesday everyone! Welcome to another blog tour – I absolutely love doing these. I get so excited! Today’s book is very different to the kind that I would normally read which you can probably tell by the fact the cover has a gun on it, and not a teashop. What I love about reading though is that you can read whatever you want, and this time I chose to read something different.

I really like the picture on the cover – It’s clever and gives you a sense of what the book entails straight away. I always find it worrying going through security at the airport when my stuff gets scanned. Not because I ever have anything to hide but I’m always thinking they’re going to see the 1 pair of Bridget jones pants that always goes on holiday with you. I’m not sure which is more dangerous – a gun or a pair of pants that Hugh Grant has his eye on.

Kisses from Nimbus is the story of an ex SAS soldier who served 18 years as an MI6 agent. An interesting and fast paced story of what happens in a life so unlike our own. Or at least unlike my life – if any of you get imprisoned and arrested then I’d say you need to calm your Friday nights down! Reading this is almost like we’re reading the plot of a great film, until we remember that it actually happened. It was a really interesting read and I’d recommend it, even if it’s not something you’d usually pick up.

You can get copies here – Amazon, Barnes & Noble

About the author:

Born in 1946 in Lancashire, P.J. ‘Red’ Riley joined the British Army at the age of eighteen. After basic training, he volunteered for Pilot Training and qualified as an operational helicopter pilot going on to service in Germany, Northern Ireland, Canada, Belize and Cyprus. He was later appointed Flight Commander SAS Flight Hereford. At the age of thirty-six years old he left the Army Air Corps and transferred to the SAS. In 1989, when Riley left the army he was quickly recruited by Mi6 where he served until 2015. Now retired, Riley splits his time between the UK and Spain spending his time writing. Chaotic, darkly humorous and at times heart-wrenchingly sad, Kisses From Nimbus tells his story as it happened, charting the harrowing real-life experiences of a soldier and spy in the name of Queen and country.

Love Roxy xx

Advertisements

Book Review | The Silk Weaver’s Wife – Debbie Rix

‘On the way back down the grand staircase to the hall, her eye was caught by a portrait, hanging in a particularly dark corner of a landing. It was of a young woman, seated at an easel; she was painting a silk moth, its eggs nestling on a mulberry leaf.’

1704: Anastasia is desperate to escape her controlling and volatile father and plans to marry in secret. But instead of the life she has dreamed of, she finds herself trapped in Venice, the unwilling wife of a silk weaver.

Despite her circumstances, Anastasia is determined to change her fate…

2017: Millie wants more from her relationship and more from her life. So when her boss Max abruptly ends their affair, she takes the opportunity to write a feature in Italy.

Staying in a gorgeous villa, Millie unexpectedly falls in love with the owner, Lorenzo. Together they begin to unravel an incredible story, threaded through generations of silk weavers.

And Millie finds herself compelled to discover the identity of a mysterious woman in a portrait…

A gorgeously written, richly evocative story, The Silk Weaver’s Wife is perfect for readers who love Kate Morton and Gill Paul.

The Silk Weavers Wife

 

I will admit that historical stories aren’t my favourite and I don’t read them often – but this one caught my eye. When I read a historical book I want to be transported to a place or time I know little about but be able to imagine walking down the street, taking in the sights and smells as if I was there. Debbie Rix manages to do this almost instantly. The story is set over two timeframes – 1704 and 2017. In 1704 Anastasia wants to run off with her beloved Marco away from her abusive father to begin her life. In 2017 Millie travels to Italy to give her space from a confusing relationship only to meet someone that she didn’t expect.

This is a beautifully written historical romance. Not only is it enjoyable to read but it was obvious quite how much research Debbie put in to the history of silk manufacturing and the process. I love learning new things, particularly when it’s such an enjoyable way to learn. I haven’t read anything by Debbie Rix before but I’m going to make sure to pick up some of her other books to read as well!

You can get a copy of A Silk Weaver’s Wife here

Love Roxy xx

 

Tis (Not) The Season!

Happy Weekend everyone! As I mentioned in my last post it’s already September! The year is going ridiculously fast and I’m not quite prepared for it to be nearly over yet. So imagine my horror the other day when I browse my favourite Netgalley publishers as usual to discover that…

Christmas books are already coming out…

I KNOW! Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adore Christmas. I can’t get enough of it! I’m that office loser that wears the stupid hats and hums carols all day whilst everyone else glares (bah humbug to you all). I spend hours upon hours browsing Pinterest for office gifts to make and save a ton of themed baking that I never get round to making (until this year!). I even read Christmas themed books constantly! No, Christmas is not the issue. It’s just… It’s September.

I’m not ready to read Christmas books yet. Firstly (and I think the most vital point) is that we haven’t even had Halloween. Oh no, in fact I think Halloween is a rather overlooked holiday in England. Sure, we pretend to get in to it. Some people make a slight effort at decorating. Everyone stocks up on sweets for the trick or treaters, inevitably running out way too early, and occasionally there’s a Halloween party invitation. But I don’t think we ever get in to it properly. (When I say we, I mean everyone I know that isn’t me!). Where are all the Halloween books? Why do we get Christmas books, but no Halloween books?! In my opinion as soon as Halloween is done I can start thinking about Christmas.

Secondly, it’s still September. So if I start reading these Christmassy books now when it’s still 3 months away I might lose my excitement. What if I think it’s dragged out for too long? What if I’ve read about so many mince pies that it gets to Christmas Day and I can’t even look at one? What about if I become a… Scrooge. It doesn’t bear thinking about. But on the other hand these books are all being published soon. I can’t leave them on my kindle unread for months – so I’ll have to read them soon. Some of them are even parts of series that I’ve been reading – I need to know what happens!

So I guess this is it folks. I’ve officially entered… the Christmas zone. Na na na na na na na na na na na na… *Attempt of the Twilight Zone theme tune. Well done if you got that*

Anyway check out the latest books on my to read list – aren’t the covers so pretty?

Love Roxy xx

September Already?!

Wow this year is going by so quickly! I’m sure it was only just Christmas and I was trying to impress Matt by cooking him the full works. I’ve never sworn so much at a Yorkshire pudding in my life… Then the January blues hit and I started up this blog – now it’s September and my little baby sister is going in to Year 7! I can’t believe it’s going by so quickly – I wish time would go a little bit slower… pretty please Time God?

I’ve 3 weeks in to my new job now – it’s a huge improvement on the last one (but I don’t think it could have been much worse!). I’m enjoying it and the office is nice – I’m particularly loving flexible hours and that you can take your dogs to work. French bulldog cuddles half way through the day? I’ll just pop upstairs! But I still can’t see myself doing finance forever – I want to do something for myself, something that helps people or at least makes them happy. I also forgot how little time I have once I’ve gone to work, done my gym class, spent time with my sister and done all the boring things like making lunch for the next day. What was spare time again?

I’ve managed to fit in some reading so there’s a couple of book reviews up soon. I’ve also got an overdue wedding blog and a few other things up in the next week or so too. I also have my first sewing class tomorrow evening and I can’t wait! I think we’re making a little bag tomorrow for the beginners lesson, then I’d love to learn how to read patterns and make clothes (or even underwear!). I’ll make sure to put a picture of the finished product up on Instagram tomorrow night! Plus there’s just under two months now until Halloween – one of my favourite days of the year! Eeeek!

See you shortly with a book review!

Love Roxy xx